The cities in the United States that will host the 2026 World Cup have been revealed

In four summers, 48 countries will compete for the 2026 World Cup, which will be held in cities around the United States, Canada, and Mexico.

FIFA, soccer’s worldwide governing body, has announced the cities that will host the 2026 World Cup:

  • Vancouver
  • Seattle
  • San Francisco
  • Los Angeles (SoFi Stadium)
  • Guadalajara, Mexico
  • Kansas City
  • Dallas
  • Atlanta
  • Houston
  • Monterrey, Mexico
  • Mexico City
  • Toronto
  • Boston
  • Philadelphia
  • Miami
  • New York/New Jersey

Eleven of the locations are in the United States, three in Mexico, and two in Canada. The locations of specific matches, including as the opening and final matches, will be announced later.

Instead of the current 32-team format, the competition will feature 48 teams for the first time. It will also be the first time the competition is held in three differen

t countries.

Cincinnati, Denver, Edmonton, Canada, Nashville, Tennessee, Orlando, Florida, and Baltimore were not chosen.

The “primary” opening match will most likely be held in either Los Angeles or Mexico City, both of which have hosted World Cup finals in the past.

In 2018, the United States, Canada, and Mexico were chosen as the winning bid, defeating Morocco. The United States previously hosted the World Cup in 1994, and Mexico did so in 1970 and 1986.

Under the slogan “Unity. Certainty. Opportunity,” the three countries’ unified effort was dubbed the United Bid. Their campaign emphasised the significant financial benefits of hosting the games in North America, as well as the simplicity and certainty of using existing large-capacity venues.

The bulk of the US arenas in contention feature NFL teams on a regular basis, and some also host MLS clubs. The Canadian Football League and Major League Soccer play at the stadiums in Canada, while Liga MX teams play in the projected arenas in Mexico.

The offer highlighted the stadiums’ luxurious suites and club area, claiming that they are “perfect for hosting FIFA leaders and guests, international dignitaries, and the premium ticket buyer.”

The World Cup will be held in three extremely vast countries, posing considerable transport issues for teams and supporters, particularly when contrasted to tournaments held in a single country with good rail links that allow fans to travel from city to city.

The United Bid took this into account by dividing teams and groups into regional groupings.

There will be a flow from West to East throughout the knockout round of the competition, and the bid suggested hosting the final match at MetLife Stadium in East Rutherford, New Jersey. The offer also requested that Atlanta and Dallas host the two semifinals.

But there’s the 2022 World Cup in Qatar, which will take place long before the world’s soccer fans arrive in North America. The competition starts on November 21 and ends on December 18.

Also Read: We’re sure you missed these tidbits from Ranbir Kapoor and Alia Bhatt’s Brahmastra teaser.

Related Articles

Back to top button